In England, Wales and Northern Ireland, every state school has a Governing Body, consisting of specified numbers of various categories of governors depending on the type and size of school. The governing body at West Haddon Endowed Primary School encompasses a cross-section of unpaid volunteers from the local community and is composed of:

  • 3 Parent governors
  • 1 LEA governor
  • 1 Staff 3 co-opted governors
  • 3 Foundation governors
  • 1 Head teacher

David Rosevear complements the governing body as an ex officio staff governor – a position to which the take up is optional to all head teachers and David has kindly chosen to fulfill the role.

By law, our governing body meets at least 3 times every year, as a Full Governing Body, where the ongoing business of committees, the governing body and the school are discussed, reported on and where decisions are taken by a majority vote. Most of the work of governors, however, is done at committee level encompassing areas such as Finance, Premises, Performance Management and Standards.

Chair of Governors

The Governing Body at West Haddon is led by the Chair, Peter Stephens, who has been elected by the Governing Body from within its membership. The Chair is supported in their work by one or more Vice

Chairs or Committee Chairs, who may be delegated certain tasks or responsibilities. Certain tasks, including signing off the school budget, can only be done by the Chair. The process for election of chair and vice-chair and their term of office is laid down in the governing body's standing orders and elected on an annual basis.

Our Governing Body

Individuals performing a role within the governing body of West Haddon Endowed Primary School are shown below.

Governor TypeNameCommitteeInterests

Term of Office

Co-opted Mr Peter Stephens
Safeguarding Governor   27/06/2016 26/06/2020
Local Authority Mr Robert Vaughan
(Vice Chair)


Performance Management


  24/10/2012 23/10/2020
Co-opted Mr Darran Britton

Finance (Chair)

Performance Management

Personal relationship with pupils
Personal relationship with staff (wife)
11/09/2017 10/09/2021
Co-opted Mr Stephen Kerr




  13/10/2016 14/10/2020
Parent Mrs Dawn Pape


Sports Premium

Personal relationship with pupil  15/09/2017  14/09/2021
Head Mr David Rosevear     01/09/2011  
Staff Mrs Amelia Hornshaw Link Governor   23/03/2016 22/03/2020
Foundation Rev Graham Collingridge Section 48
Strong Roots Training – wife works.
PCCs – Long Buckby, Watford, West Haddon, Winwick
22/07/2013 21/07/2017
Parent Mrs Natalie Smith


SEND Governor

Pupil Premium

Personal relationship with pupil 27/09/2017 26/09/2021
Parent Mr Wayne Munnelly



Personal relationship with pupils 09/10/2016 Resigned Jan 2019
Foundation Mrs Kate Butler

Section 48


  01/07/2018 02/07/2022
Foundation Mrs Julie Morgan Section 48   03/06/2018 02/06/2022
Clerk Mrs Colette Bowers     01/12/2008  

Governance Documents

Our School Awards

Follow our Tweets!

Contact Us

West Haddon Endowed CofE Primary School,
The Green,
West Haddon,

Telephone: 01788 510318

Please call Nicola Elliott or Colette Bowers in the school office.

FAX: 01788 510318